Let Others Know What You Think

Share Your Thoughts

Send a Letter to the Editor to your local paper:

  • Forest Lake Times – 52A editor.forestlaketimes@ecm-inc.com
  • Hastings Star Gazette – 57 editor@hastingsstargazette.com
  • The Hugo Citizen – 52A and 52B Editor@ReadTheCitizen.com
  • Oakdale – Lake Elmo Review – 55B and 56A oakdale-lakeelmo@lillienews.com
  • Scandia Country Messenger – 52A editor@countrymessenger.com
  • Stillwater Gazette – 52B and 56A http://www.stillwatergazette.com/forms/letters/
  • South Washington Co. Bulletin 56B pressrelease@swcbulletin.com
  • White Bear Press – 52B http://presspubs.com/forms/letters/
  • Woodbury Bulletin – 56 editor@woodburybulletin.com
  • Ramsey County Review – Woodbury – 56A, Maplewood – 55 and North St. Paul – 55A
  • http://www.review-news.com/Formlayout.asp?formcall =userform&form=1
  • Pioneer Press letters@pioneerpress.com
  • (put letter in the body of the email)
  • Star Tribune Opinion@startribune.com

 

Tips for writing a good letter to the editor:

  • Make your main point at the beginning of your letter
  • We live in a soundbite world, so keep it short; many papers have a 250 word minimum
  • Facts are helpful – be sure to have a reliable source
  • Speak from the heart – personal stories are powerful; don’t be too wonky

Be Social! 

  • Tweet about it
  • Tell friends on Facebook
  • Post on your blog

Learn More:

Here are additional resources to help you learn more about the issues:

Research and Information:
• The Minnesota Budget Project

  • website: www.mnbudgetproject.org
  • blog: http://minnesotabudgetbites.org

• Invest in Minnesota: www.investinmn.org
• Minnesota 20/20: www.mn2020.org
• Growth & Justice: www.growthandjustice.org
• League of Women Voters: www.lwvmn.org
• Citizens for Election Integrity: http://ceimn.org

Government:

  • Minnesota Management & Budget (MMB): www.mmb.state.mn.us
  • MinnesotaHouse:www.house.leg.state.mn.us
  • MinnesotaSenate:www.senate.leg.state.mn.usFact checking sites:
    • PoliGraph: http://minnesota.publicradio.org; click onPolitics and then select “PoliGraph”
    • Politifact: www.politifact.com
    • Fact Check: www.factcheck.org